Toppling Goliath Mornin’ Delight

MorninDelight15

“How do you like your coffee? Try our delicious coffee stout and you’ll never want your low-fat vanilla cream latte again. This might not contain a wonderful design in the foam, but it certainly will satisfy your need for a late evening coffee pick-me-up.”

I never thought I’d get to try this beer – my white whale, the Moby Dick of my beer world. I finally got a bottle this past August, when a lucky 500 people lined up in Decorah, Iowa for the second bottling of one of the best stouts in the world, maybe the best some would say. It took a few big bottles from the cellar to finally get someone to budge, but I was able to acquire a bottle in September which instantly went to the cellar.

Well, what do you do with a bottle of beer this coveted? You wait for the biggest event of your life to open it, and that’s exactly what I did! To celebrate the marriage of my beautiful wife and I, I cracked open the bottle, and boy it didn’t disappoint.

Toppling Goliath’s Mornin’ Delight is a 10.5% ABV imperial stout brewed with maple syrup and coffee. Here’s my full review:

Final Rating: 4.9/5
look: 5 | smell: 5 | taste: 4.75 | feel: 5 | overall: 5

2015 vintage. Poured from a 22oz bottle into a 2015 Mornin’ Delight tulip glass. Acquired in a trade with PaulG, thank you very much. Opened in celebration of my marriage. Drank over the course of ~1.5 hours, allowed to warm over that time.

Pours a thick, oily, viscous, jet-black body right out of the bottle, producing a deep mocha colored rising head that reduces fairly slowly, sticking around for a while to leave light lacing and eventually a ring of mocha retention. Looks exactly like a stout should look.

The aromas are potent and present the second you open the bottle, but naturally get more pronounced as this stout warms up. They peak just below room temperature. Anyway, the maple syrup is astounding, incredibly sip-inviting and ever present without smelling artificial or forced. The sweet maple goodness mingles greatly with a fresh coffee bean aroma – think freshly ground maple coffee. In the background is a dark chocolate aroma, vanilla, and caramel.

As if the aromas weren’t heavenly enough, the taste delivers a massive punch to the taste buds. A perfectly balanced medley of maple syrup, freshly ground coffee, cocoa, and dark chocolate are what I’d expect a chocolate covered maple coffee bean to taste like in liquid form. On the follow through is a sweet, rich chocolate-vanilla flavor reminiscent of chocolate cake, followed by a delectable charred, roasty, dark chocolate-cocoa bittersweet note that sticks on the tongue for a few minutes.

What sets this beer apart from others, and really pushes it to the next level, is the mouthfeel. Rarely have I tasted a beer as thick, rich, full bodied, and full of delectable flavors as Mornin’ Delight. The carbonation is medium-light but definitely present.

What can I say? This beer has everything.. it looks awesome, smells like breakfast in a bottle, tastes heavenly, and feels like liquid fudge, therefore I give it a the same rating as my favorite beer of all time, Good Morning. I give it a 4.75 for taste because it may be literally a hair too sweet for my liking. It was the closest to perfect I think can be achieved in that category. Worth the hunt, try it fresh!

 

Leave a Reply

