Good Morning

goodmorning

It’s not many nights that I say to myself “wow. this may be the best beer I’ve ever tasted”, but the other night when I enjoyed Tree House Brewing’s Good Morning Imperial stout, those very words came out of my mouth. And upon sipping it over the new two hours, letting it warm and allowing the layers and layers of complexity to unfold, my final rating pointed to just that – Good Morning might be the best beer I’ve ever had. It’s certainly the highest I’ve ever given any beer a rating, and if it wasn’t for my stubbornness and belief that “no beer is perfect”, I may have just given it a 5/5.

I guess it was worth waiting 2 hours in line (in the snow) after a long day to get my 750mL growler fill. And you can bet that next time it’s released, I will be doing the same thing (hopefully without the snow).

Here’s my review:

Final Rating: 4.9/5
look: 5 | smell: 5 | taste: 4.75 | feel: 5 | overall: 5

Poured from a 750 mL growler filled 4 hours ago at Tree House Brewery into a Tree House tulip glass.

Pours an inky, black, oily, thick body that instantly produces a rising dark mocha colored, light-to-dark textured soft frothy head that reduces very slowly, leaving blotchy lacing and an uneven layer of light brown foam.

Let this one warm up to let the aromas develop and come through. Holy.. this beer reminds me of the wonderful aromas one would experience when first walking into a bakery.. extremely decadent, rich, complex, EXTREMELY inviting. How one earth do I begin to describe the aromas coming from this beer? Take the most delicious dessert you ever had and put it in aroma form.. rich french vanilla, super roasted rich freshly ground coffee, fresh brownies and cake, maple syrup, slight jammy fruits, anise, charred malt, sugar cookies. I can’t wait to sip this.

Taste is equally as decadent and complex, rich freshly ground coffee, sugar cookie, maple candies, dark chocolate chip brownies, cocoa, finish is roasty and toasty. So incredibly delicious. The mouthfeel is rich, heavy, full-bodied, low carbonation. Absolutely fantastic.

I was blown away by this beer. I enjoyed it over two hours and it just got better and better as it warmed and the flavors and aromas opened up. It was absolutely amazing, and as rated the best beer I’ve ever had. The complexity, uniqueness, balance, and flavors are out of this world. Seek this out.

Leave a Reply

