Kern River Citra DIPA!

citradipa

 

Tonight I got to experience one of my biggest wants ever – a big Double IPA brewed with tons of Citra hops, Citra DIPA.

Final Rating: 4.16/5

look: 4.5 | smell: 4 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 4.25 | overall: 4

Poured from a 22 oz bottle into a snifter. Thanks kflah41 for this whale!

Appearance – Pours a slightly hazy, somewhat dull orange body with a decent sized, 2 finger head that reduces very slowly and leaves thick, foamy lacing.

Smell – Nothing hugely pronounced or overwhelming.. I really like a blast of tropical aromas from a west coast IPA of this caliber, instead I have to strain to get slight notes of pine, citrus, some tropical mango and pineapple.

Taste – Upfront I get subtle piney flavors and semisweet malt, followed by a tropical kick of lemon-citrus, mango, and a resinous bitterness that sticks on the tongue for a while.

M – Easy going down, medium carbonation and body.

Did I enjoy Citra DIPA? Absolutely. Does it hold up to some of the other world-class DIPAs I’ve tried? Not really. I was going to do a side-by-side of this and Heady Topper, but it wasn’t necessary because I knew which one would win. My advice is: if you’re looking to try some of the best west coast style DIPAs on the planet, try some of the easier to acquire ones (Pliny, Heady, enjoy by, etc). Once you’ve tried those, seek this out.

Leave a Reply

