The Infamous DARK LORD

darklord

 

Tonight I proceeding in celebrating the first week at my new job in Biotech by cracking open a beer that I’ve been saving for over a year now.. a brew that the craft beer community loves to hate, Three Floyd’s Dark Lord Imperial Stout. I peeled the wax off of this baby with an open mind, hoping that it’s fan-boy praise would outweigh the increasing criticism that it’s received in recent years.  Unfortunately, Dark Lord 2012 did not impress me in the least bit. Maybe it’s relatively high rating is reflective of how good it was in past years, but I can’t imagine that it would hold the title it has now-a-days if it always tasted like this.

Anyway, here’s my full review:

Final Rating: 3.91/5 

look: 4.5 | smell: 4 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Poured from a 22 oz bottle into a 3F tulip glass. Acquired from Surge1311, thanks buddy!

Appearance- Pours a deep brown, nearly black, opaque body with a slowly rising light chocolate colored head that reduces slowly to a ring of foam, leaving some rings of lacing on the side of the glass.

Smell- Very interesting aromas on the nose.. a strong maltyness reminiscent of a mixture of molasses, soy sauce, milk chocolate, and toffee. There’s a biscuity, bready aroma too.

Taste- Woah, way too sweet. I’ve never tasted a stout this sweet before.. it’s like someone mixed simple syrup with an imperial stout, what’s up with that? It almost tastes like the sugar fermentation process was stopped short. Getting past the syrupy, almost artificial sweet flavor, I get a little chocolate, coffee, dark fruits on the follow through. The finish is very roasty and charred which is pleasant. You also can’t taste the 15% alcohol which is also very nice, but I just can’t get past the EXTREME sweetness of this beer.

Mouthfeel- Heavy, sticky, syrupy body. Almost no carbonation.

Am I impressed with Dark Lord? Not the in the least bit. Honestly I have no clue how it gets the ratings it gets on Beeradvocate.

Is Dark Lord a huge, heavy bodied, flavor-packed, monster of a stout? I’ll give it that. Just not in the best way possible.

Leave a Reply

